CrashPlan: macOS Mojave not backing up files with personal data

CrashPlan: macOS Mojave not backing up files with personal data

Overview

Apple introduced new privacy settings in macOS Mojave 10.14, which impacts the ability of RMTT Cloud Backup’s app, CrashPlan, to access some files from apps like Contacts, Photos, and Mail that contain personal data.

Due to Apple’s new privacy restrictions in macOS Mojave 10.14 for files and folders containing personal data, CrashPlan cannot back up some files from apps like Contacts, Photos, and Mail until you grant access to the CrashPlan app.

If you would like assistance performing these steps, contact us at dispatch@rmtt.com or 303-732-3200.

Affects

Devices running macOS Mojave 10.14

Recommended Solution

Users

Step 1: Grant full disk access to CrashPlan

  1. Open Apple System Preferences.
  2. Open Security & Privacy.
  3. Select the Privacy tab.
  4. If privacy settings are locked:
    1. Click the lock icon in the lower-left corner.
    2. Enter your device password.
    3. Click Unlock.
  5. In the left pane, select Full Disk Access.
  6. In the right pane, click the + icon.
  7. Navigate to Applications > CrashPlan.
  8. Click Open.
    The following message appears: “CrashPlan” will not have full disk access until it is quit.
  9. Click Quit Now.
  10. (Optional) Click the lock in the lower-left corner to re-lock privacy settings.
  11. (Required) Follow the steps in the next section to restart the Code42 service. The Code42 app will not have full disk access until the Code42 service restarts.

Step 2: Restart the CrashPlan service

There are two ways to restart the CrashPlan service: restart your device, or enter a command in the CrashPlan app command prompt. Choose whichever option is easiest for you.

Option 1

Restart your Mac.

Option 2
  1. Open the CrashPlan app.
  2. If necessary, sign in to your account.
  3. Press Option+Command+C to open the commands prompt.
  4. Enter this command:
    restart
  5. Press Enter.
    This closes the app, reauthenticates the with the CrashPlan server, and then restarts the CrashPlan service.
2018-10-23T16:33:59+00:00